March 14, 2003page 1 of 26

SGA candidates kick off campaign

By Tony Kluemper
News Editor
March 14, 2003

Chris Gooley (left) and Tim Cailloux (right) STUDENT PUBLICA

SGA presidential candidates Ben Lawder and Nate Watson get an early start putting up posters all over campus. Campaigning began at midnight Wednesday and runs until elections end March 28.

With three candidates running for both president and vice president of the undergraduate SGA, this year's race appears to be one of the most contested in recent years. Each candidate has been actively campaigning since the campaign kick off at midnight on Wednesday.

The three candidates for the presidential race are Ben Lawder, the current treasurer of UHR, Nate Watson, the current executive vice president, and Calvin John Yu, who does not currently serve in SGA. In the vice presidential race, Public Policy Rep Michael Handelman, Freshmen Rep Danny Puckett and Junior Rep Chris Rankine will face off.

While the top races feature numerous options, the Undergraduate House voted at its Tuesday meeting to extend the deadline for representative application until today. The extension came as a result of a low number of applicants for the positions. In fact, at the end of the day Tuesday, there were only applicants running for just over half of the representative positions in the House. This marks the second year that the application deadline was extended due to lack of candidates.

Graduate senators also kicked off their election process this week. However graduate students will vote only on the president and vice president in the election.

The graduate election also features two candidates for president and three for vice president. Current senators Yasser Bhatti and Pelham Norville will campaign for the top job while current senators Roy Furbank, Deborah Middleton and Robin Bechtel will compete for vice president.

Campaigning will continue until March 26 when students can begin voting online in the general election. The polls will remain open until 4 p.m. March 28.

Copyright Noticenext